Computer Science REU: Admissions & Acceptance Rates

In summary: It's possible that there just aren't as many computer science programs out there that are willing to take students who are not the best in their field.
James LeBron
Hello everyone. I've gotten interested in the field of computer science lately, and I'm thinking of pursuing advanced study in that field. I am currently a rising sophomore at a top 10 school in the U.S. and will likely major in computer science (if not, math). I would like to know a little more about admissions with computer science research experience for undergraduates. I haven't found that much information online as compared to, say, math REUs.

So far, the only computer science classes I've taken are the standard two intro classes - programming I and programming II in Java. However, I've been exposed to a lot of graduate-level projects in computer science that intrigued me, especially with AI, 3-D rendering, algorithms, and others. I plan to take, at minimum, 3 more computer science classes in the next school year, as well as related math classes.

I've looked at some REU's in computer science, but most don't give me a lot of information about admission. How valuable are they for an aspiring PhD student? Is the acceptance ratio greater than or less than 10 percent? What are the most competitive and least competitive REU's to get in? (I'm not saying that there are bad REU's - I just want to see if I can get in one after my sophomore year and I'm aware that I'll be aiming low to start.) I'm hoping to eventually get accepted to a PhD program in computer science ranked in the 20-30 range.

Physics news on Phys.org