Computer science courses and college credit

In summary, the conversation revolves around a high school student's interest in learning computer science and mathematics during their summer vacation. They ask for recommendations on computer science courses, tips while studying, and online courses for college credit. The conversation also touches on the importance of gaining experience in programming and not being too concerned about specific languages. Suggestions are given to contact schools and to focus on learning to program well rather than just learning to program. The recommendation of the open source book "Think Python" is also mentioned.
icecubebeast
Hello,

I am a student in high school who is about to go on summer vacation. During my long vacation, I would like to learn about computer science and mathematics. I have a few questions on this:
1. What computer science courses do you recommend me to take in order (I know the Java programming language and its libraries)?
2. What do you recommend me while I study (tips, things to avoid, etc)?
3. Are there online courses where I can get college credit by doing the work (and explain how to get credit)?

Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm currently in a similar situation. I'm a college student, but have not yet had any exposure to programming in any of my courses. This fall I'm taking an introductory programming course, and I'm getting a bit of a jump on it this summer. The course I'm taking works mainly in C and Java, and this summer I'm spending some time self-teaching a bit of coding in Python. I'm using the open source text Think Python, in conjunction with an Introduction to Computer Science and Programming course on MIT Open Course Ware. I'm only about two weeks into it at this point, but it's been going very well. This is a very clear book, and the material on MIT OCW is very helpful.