Computer Engineering or Computer Science

In summary, the conversation discusses the decision between pursuing a degree in computer science or computer engineering for a career in software development. The individual is interested in low-level software and hardware interaction, as well as algorithms and artificial intelligence. They have received mixed advice on which degree would be better, with some saying computer engineering would be more respected by employers and allow for the opportunity to learn about electronics design. However, the individual is more interested in software and is considering the flexibility and electives offered by a computer science degree. They are concerned about the difficulty and potential job opportunities for each degree. Ultimately, they are seeking advice and insight on their decision.
clint222
I'm a first year engineering student at a Canadian university. I've been interested in programming and computer science from a very young age, and in high school had also become interested in electronics. Entering university, I didn't know if I wanted to do computer science or computer engineering. I was advised to start in engineering and take the first year computer science courses. An academic adviser told me that doing both programs concurrently would take around 7 years, so that isn't really an option.

I’m halfway through first year engineering now and soon need to decide which program I will pursue. I know that I want a software development career. I have heard mixed advice about what degree would be best for this. I am quite interested in low level software and how it interacts with the hardware, like device drivers and operating systems. However, I’m equally or perhaps more in algorithms, artificial intelligence, and topics that would probably not be covered in much depth in computer engineering.