Complex numbers: reinventing the wheel?

In summary: The change is very interesting and it is about the "useless" negative square root taken as an absolute value in the usual definition of complex numbers. This is different from the imaginary unit. I have also showed how the same equation can be solved without resorting to complex numbers and how the change in the formula is related to a property of right triangles, the hypotenuse squared and the square of the sides, something not mentioned in the wikipedia article.In summary, the conversation discusses the similarities between complex numbers and conjugate numbers, and their historical development in solving quadratic equations. The use of complex
bobie
Gold Member
I am studying complex numbers and, hard as I try, I cannot see great difference between them and the conjugate numbers known and used since 500 B.C. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quadratic_formula#Historical_development) to solve a quadratic equation
[tex]p/2 \pm \sqrt(p/2 ^2\pm q) [/tex]
where the sum of the conjugates gives p and the multiplication q.

It seems to me that they just factorized these "conjugate, triangular or pythagorean" numbers (doing separate operations) and used them to find the root in
[itex]x^3 -px = q[/itex] when p is < 0,
setting √p/3 as the hypothenuse, x/2 and √(p/3-x/2 ^2) as legs of the triangle and parts of the conjugate numbers
u , v = [tex]x/2\pm \sqrt{p/3-x/2 ^2}[/tex]
the (separate) sum of the conjugates u (x/2+x/2) + v (+√ -√=0) gives x and the (cross,separate) multiplication gives (x/2 ^2 + √.. ^2) the squared hypothenuse p/3, satisfying cardano formula u * v = p/3:
(x/2 + √...) * (x/2 - √...) = (x/2 ^2 + p/3 -x/2 ^2)

Why call them complex or imaginary numbers as the negative square root is taken as an absolute value? can someone , please, point out the differences apart from the cross multiplication?

Thanks

Last edited:
Mathematics news on Phys.org
bobie said: