Complex Conjugates with sin and cos

In summary, the operator should be applied to the following factor, not the preceding one. The way this is written is a bit confusing to me. An improvement, I believe, would be$$\frac{\partial}{\partial x}(\sqrt{\frac 2 L} \sin(\frac{n\pi x}{L})$$
Oaxaca
I am rather new to the whole idea of complex conjugates and especially operators.

I was trying to understand the solution to a problem I was doing, but the math is confusing me rather than the physics. In the last row of calculations, why does the sin change to a cos, and the d/dx change to what it is. I recognize that n(pi)/L is the first derivative of the inside function for the trig functions, but don't understand how it got there.

Thank you for any help and sorry in advance if I posted this in the wrong section, I'm not positive what section this would fall under.

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 8.28.35 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2016-02-29 at 8.28.35 PM.png
    25.1 KB · Views: 2,553
Physics news on Phys.org
Oaxaca said:
I am rather new to the whole idea of complex conjugates and especially operators.

I was trying to understand the solution to a problem I was doing, but the math is confusing me rather than the physics. In the last row of calculations, why does the sin change to a cos, and the d/dx change to what it is. I recognize that n(pi)/L is the first derivative of the inside function for the trig functions, but don't understand how it got there.
In the next -to-last line, there is a ##\frac{\partial}{\partial x}## operator. They're taking the partial derivative of what's to the right, with respect to x.
Oaxaca said:
Thank you for any help and sorry in advance if I posted this in the wrong section, I'm not positive what section this would fall under.

Mark44 said:
In the next -to-last line, there is a ##\frac{\partial}{\partial x}## operator. They're taking the partial derivative of what's to the right, with respect to x.