Compiling C++ Remotely with SSH on Windows XP

• C/C++
  • Thread starter Math Is Hard
  • Start date
  • Tags
    C++ Windows
In summary, compiling C++ remotely with SSH on Windows XP allows for remote access to a Windows computer from a different device, such as a phone or laptop, to compile and run C++ programs. This process involves setting up an SSH server on the Windows XP computer and using an SSH client on the remote device to connect and execute commands. This allows for a more convenient and flexible way to compile and test C++ programs without being physically present at the computer.
Math Is Hard
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Gold Member
I would like to use SSH to compile my C++ files remotely in my school's lab. I have never done this before, but I understand that I need an SSH client.
So I looked at these:
http://www.openssh.com/windows.html

I am on Windows XP. Is there one you would recommend?
thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:
Technology news on Phys.org
PuTTy http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/
(and you can run it off a flash drive, in case you have to use another computer).
PuTTy also supports ssh tunneling.
UPDATE: 2007-01-24 PuTTY 0.59 is released!

..and I use WinSCP and FileZilla for secure file transfers.

Last edited:

Related to Compiling C++ Remotely with SSH on Windows XP

1. What is the purpose of compiling C++ remotely with SSH on Windows XP?

The purpose of compiling C++ remotely with SSH on Windows XP is to allow developers to compile their code on a remote server or machine using the Secure Shell (SSH) protocol. This allows for faster and more efficient compilation, especially for larger projects.

2. How do I set up remote compiling with SSH on Windows XP?