Comparing Electric Potential and Electric Field

In summary, the conversation discusses the relationship between Electric Potential and Electric Field. The equation for electric potential is given as ΔV=-∫Esds and it is explained that electric potential is the negative integral of electric field. The concept of graphing both in the positive y-axis is also mentioned, with confusion about why electric field would increase when electric potential decreases. The expert summarizer explains that the electric field is the force felt by a positive charge divided by the charge and the potential is the potential energy divided by the charge. The relationship between the two is further discussed, with the expert clarifying that it is not as simple as a direct correlation between the two.
MattyP

Homework Statement

I guess this isn't like a homework question. I'm studying for an upcoming exam and feel pretty confident about most of the material, except for the relationship between Electric Potential and Electric Field. I guess the pertinent equation is as follows:

Homework Equations

ΔV=-∫Esds

The Attempt at a Solution

I understand the concept behind this. Electric potential is the negative integral of electric field. What confuses me is that my professor keeps graphing both in the positive y-axis. If electric potential is the NEGATIVE integral of electric field, wouldn't it always be the "opposite". So if graphing E vs distance and E = +1000 V/m at d = 20m and electric field is increasing as distance increases, wouldn't the electric field vs distance graph start at, say, some arbitrary y-value and then decrease as distance decreases?

This doesn't conceptually make sense to me anyway because of electric potential's equation. I would imagine that E would increase as V increased since the only difference in equation is that one is inverse squared and one is not.