Comp Sci Scope & AI in Space Tech

In summary: In short, how does it help in space technology?Thanks.In summary, computer engineering is a field that focuses on building computational systems, while computer science deals mostly with what is and isn't computable and how efficiently. Additionally, computer science is a relatively new field that is rapidly developing, while computer engineering is an older discipline that is more stable. Regarding AI, note that the field has its limits and don't go into it with unrealistic expectations. Lastly, check the "Tools section" for the underlying math of computer science to see if it is similar to what you are looking for.
schumi1991`
HI guys I am a first year engineering student and have yet not decided upon my branch of engineering but over the last few weeks the field of comp sci is looking very attractive to me... So I would like to know that what is the scope in this field..especially AI(Artificial Intelligence)...And what are it's uses in Space Technology...
Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
One thing you should keep in mind is the difference between computer engineering, and computer science. Computer engineering is essentially electronic engineering with a focus on building computational systems. There's bound to be some programming in there as well, but little to none theoretical computer science compared to the other field.

Computer science, on the other hand, deals mostly with what is and isn't computable, and how efficiently. This is at the heart of theoretical computer science, and there are also many theoretical fields that are concerned with something else - graphics, image processing, natural language processing, AI,...