Combining full-time job and research

• Job Skills
  • Thread starter Ngineer
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Job Research
In summary, the individual is faced with a dilemma of having to choose between a full-time job offer and a volunteer research position with a professor in a lab. They need to keep the research position for their chances of being admitted to grad school, but also need the job for a source of income. They are wondering if it is possible to ask the employer for a reduction in hours to accommodate both opportunities. However, it is advised to take the job and fully dedicate oneself to it, as asking for a reduction in hours after accepting the job may result in the offer being withdrawn.
Ngineer
Hello everyone,

My dilemma is:
- I am a volunteer researcher with a professor in a lab
- I received a full-time job offer from a company.

I need to keep the research position because it greatly increases my chances of being admitted to grad school, and very closely related to my field of interest.
I also need to accept the job offer mainly to have a source of income, but it also is an interesting job.

Is it possible to ask the employer to reduce my hours by giving me one unpaid day off every week (a lot of the work in the lab is theoretical so it can work this way), or would that make the employer view me as uncommitted and withdraw the offer? Are there other ways of combining these two opportunities?

Your advice is greatly appreciated!

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
The first rule in life is that you have to eat, so if you need a job, that has to be your priority.