Coefficient of Kinetic Friction from M, Angle, Accel.

In summary: I was getting a little lost myself. In summary, the box has been accelerating for 3.63 m/s due to the force of friction.
Flash70

Homework Statement

Physics1.jpg

m = 52kg
theta = 10.3deg
t = 5.8s
d = 3.63 m

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

Ok so here are my attempts. If they are way off, take it easy on me :). I am not very good at this. Am I missing negatives or am I way off on this? Are my trigs set up correctly?
Thanks for you help.

Try 1) ma = mg (sin10.3) - Umg(cos10.3)
Try 2)
ma = 52kg * (3.63/5.8^2)
mg = 52kg*9.8
mg(sin10.3)+ma = Force of friction
mg(cos10.3) = Force Normal
muk = force of friction / force normal

Physics news on Phys.org
Flash70 said:

Homework Statement

Physics1.jpg

m = 52kg
theta = 10.3deg
t = 5.8s
d = 3.63 m

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

Ok so here are my attempts. If they are way off, take it easy on me :). I am not very good at this. Am I missing negatives or am I way off on this? Are my trigs set up correctly?
Thanks for you help.

Try 1) ma = mg (sin10.3) - Umg(cos10.3)
Try 2)
ma = 52kg * (3.63/5.8^2)
mg = 52kg*9.8
mg(sin10.3)+ma = Force of friction
mg(cos10.3) = Force Normal
muk = force of friction / force normal

Try to break it down into simpler pieces.

If the box covers 3.63 m in 5.8 seconds, what acceleration has it had?

For that acceleration, what has been the net force on the 52 kg box.

Since the box is on 10.3 degree slope, what is the component of the weight force parallel to the slope? perpendicular to the slope?

What must be the size of the friction force in order to get the net force you got in step 2 ?

Using F = μR what must the coefficient of friction be. [remember R is the reaction force from the slope, which balances the weight component perpendicular to the slope.]

I hate to ask this but would it be possible for you to explain it in a different way?