CMB Hemisphere of Evil: Planck Asymmetry Examined

In summary, the movie is called "The Holographic Universe" and it is a documentary about the current state of the CMB and the possible implications of the holographic principle. It is definitely worth a watch if you're interested in this topic.
Chronos
Science Advisor
Gold Member
This paper critically examines the 'hemisphere of evil' CMB asymmetry reported by Planck - CMB Aberration and Doppler Effects as a Source of Hemispherical Asymmetries, http://arxiv.org/abs/1304.3506. Its worth a look if you find this aspect of Planck vaguely disturbing [as I did].

Space news on Phys.org
That is an interesting paper, its a good possibility from this papers view at least. Thanks for posting it.
Considering how sensitive and how slight CMB measurements are. Any slight error can corrupt the data

Needless to say, I'm a layman science enthusiast. I'm wondering about the peculiar velocity of our local group of galaxies, in regard to
dipole modulation, hemispherical asymmetry, and/or something called primordial dipole? A recent paper, http://arxiv.org/abs/1312.0275
says that no evidence of dipole modulation was found.

Does that mean that the dipole asymmetry can be explained away? Is dipole modulation the same thing as hemispherical asymmetry, and if the findings of no dipole modulation are correct, does that mean that there is no hemispherical asymmetry after proper corrections to the data?

Here is the abstract: