Clearing up my Cosmological Confusion - what is expanding?

In summary, the expansion of space does have physical consequences, including an increase in the distance between objects and an acceleration of that expansion due to dark energy. This can lead to the apparent recession of objects at speeds greater than the speed of light, but the actual distance between those objects and us may still decrease over time, allowing their light to reach us eventually. However, there are also galaxies that are too far away for their light to ever reach us due to the finite maximum value of the Hubble distance.
rede96
As a layman, I have come to understand basic expansion (meaning without dark energy) as objects which are not locally gravitationally bound are moving away from each other due to some inertia created from an initial period of inflation. This rate of recession is the Hubble constant and it changes over time as the universe has changed from being radiation / matter dominated and the energy density has diluted over time with expansion.

However, there are no ‘forces’ acting upon these objects causing them to recede and space is not a physical thing that expands causing this recession.

There is however also Dark energy, which can be modeled as a force which causes this rate of expansion to accelerate. Dark energy being like a scalar field which means it’s energy density doesn’t dilute with expansion. So as these objects recede, there are greater distances between them and hence more dark energy between them, so more ‘force’ and this is what causes the rate of expansion to accelerate at greater distances.

However, I also read that a lot that ‘space’ itself is expanding and this expanding space has physical consequences. The most frequent references to this are:

1. cosmological redshift, which explains that the wave length of a photon is ‘stretched’ due to space expanding.