Classical mechanics ~ Potential energy and periodic movement

In summary, the particle has a potential energy: U(x) = A*[ x^(-2) - x^(-1) ] , where A is a constant. First thing I did was U '(x) = 0 to find the balance points, now the problem is that there's only one root to the function, which means there's only one balance point at x=2 (stable). I thought I was going to find two or more balance points to determine the energy that divides the movements. It's my first time posting here so I hope I'm making myself clear, but can someone explain me where I'm wrong ?
rmfw
Hey all,

suppose there's a particle with Potential Energy : U(x) = A*[ x^(-2) - x^(-1) ] , where A is a constant.

I'm supposed to find the energy required to make the particle go from periodic movement to unlimited movement.

First thing I did was U '(x) = 0 to find the balance points, now the problem is that there's only one root to the function, which means there's only one balance point at x=2 (stable).

I thought I was going to find two or more balance points to determine the energy that divides the movements.

It's my first time posting here so I hope I'm making myself clear, but can someone explain me where I'm wrong ?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Hi rmfw, welcome to PF.

There are some rules here in the Forums, how to post your question. Read https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=686781, please.

That particle moves in a potential well, how does it look like? Make a sketch. Why do you think there should be more balance points? What is that equilibrium point, minimum or maximum? At what energy is the particle free to go to infinity and not confined into the well? ehild

Hi, on the first picture is the graph I got. On the second picture is the graph of what I expected. I know that if the particle was trapped in the potential well (picture 2) , with an energy of E>k the particle would go into unlimited movement.