Civil/Environmental Engineering: Pros and Cons

In summary, the conversation is about a person's decision to pursue a course in civil/environmental engineering at university despite having no work experience in the subject. The speaker suggests that the person become friendly with the local Public Works staff in their community to gain practical experience and increase their chances of being accepted into the program. While lack of work experience may reduce prospects, it does not necessarily eliminate them.
npat
i've finally decided to pursue a course in civil/environmental engineering at uni, but cos of my late decision i have no work experience or any for that matter with the subject. would this sort of lesson my prospects of getting in?

Engineering news on Phys.org
I really don't know anything about that, but I have a suggestion. This, of course, depends upon what sort of community you live in. Your ID space doesn't show where you live, so I don't even know what hemisphere you're in. Anyhow, if it's a practical endeavour where you live, I would recommend that you become friendly with the local Public Works staff. One of them might let you tag along on a few projects, and maybe give you explanations of the things that they're doing.

Yes it would reduce your prospects of getting in, but not necessarily eliminate them. Don't underestimate the value of just a few weeks' work experience.

Related to Civil/Environmental Engineering: Pros and Cons

What is Civil/Environmental Engineering?

Civil/Environmental Engineering is a branch of engineering that focuses on the design, construction, and maintenance of the built environment. This includes structures such as buildings, roads, bridges, and water treatment plants, as well as the natural environment, such as water and air quality.

What are the pros of studying Civil/Environmental Engineering?