Civil Engineering Jobs for Undergrads: Questions & Answers for Eric

In summary, the conversation discusses the different job opportunities for a civil engineering student with a B.S. degree, the value of pursuing higher education through masteral or doctorate degrees, the necessary computer skills for an impressive resume, and the best country to pursue a career in civil engineering. The conversation also includes the importance of taking the EIT or FE exam and the possibility of working while pursuing an MS or PhD degree. The speaker ultimately decides to pursue an MS degree in the Philippines rather than studying abroad.
median27
Hi, I am an undergrad civil engineering student and wanted to know...

1) What are the jobs i can get from graduating with a B.S.? What are those different positions?

2) Do i need to take masteral or doctorate degrees in order to be employed for a higher position? Or having a B.S. is already employable and can give you a good salary?

3) What are my needed computer skills to have an impressive resume?

4) Is masteral or even doctorate degree only applicable if you want to be a professor?

5) What's the best country in pursuing such career?

I just want to know those queries to have a better direction and can plan for my future.

Thanks for any input.

Eric

Physics news on Phys.org
median27 said:
Hi, I am an undergrad civil engineering student and wanted to know...

1) What are the jobs i can get from graduating with a B.S.? What are those different positions?

2) Do i need to take masteral or doctorate degrees in order to be employed for a higher position? Or having a B.S. is already employable and can give you a good salary?

3) What are my needed computer skills to have an impressive resume?

4) Is masteral or even doctorate degree only applicable if you want to be a professor?

5) What's the best country in pursuing such career?

I just want to know those queries to have a better direction and can plan for my future.