Chris - Introduction/career advice

• Thread starter Chris Wells
  • Start date
In summary, Chris is a 27-year-old night attendant at a backpackers who is considering going back to college to get a physics/engineering degree. He feels disillusioned with his current job and is seeking honest advice on the job prospects and timeline for employment in the field. He is using Khan Academy to improve his skills and is open to other technical job opportunities while working towards his degree. However, he is determined to eventually become a recognized engineer and is aware of the importance of a four-year degree in the field.
Chris Wells
Hi Guys,

My name is Chris. I am 27 years old and work full time as a night attendant at a backpackers. Although, I really enjoy this job, I feel I can do more with my life. When I was 18, I majored in sports science and graduated at 22. When I graduated, I was totally disillusioned by the "real world" of work and my unrealistic expectations of what to expect as a career.

This is why, I love this forum because it gives honest advice compared to the propaganda imposed by colleges who just want your money.

I have been using Khan Academy to improve my math, chemistry, and physics skills. I am looking at going back to college to get a physics/engineering degree.

I would like to know, for those who have a physics/engineering degree, how long did it take you to get a job in your field after you graduated? Did you work retail jobs before getting your dream job? I watched many people in my generation move back home with their parents. Many of them were unemployed or are still underemployed (working at job that does not require a degree).

So please do not give me any BS propaganda advice, as I am too old for that ****.

I just want the straight truth.

Thanks
Chris

Physics news on Phys.org