Chemical Burn no marks or redness?

In summary: I fully agree with you, but my Doctor had no ideas, so why not try the science nerds and engineers ;-)
RobN
Hi,
This may sound like a weird question.
I have extremely painful burning sensation on my lower buttocks and down the back of my upper leg.

I have been to the doctor and he has no answers. Is it possible that I came in contact with some substance that could cause the extreme burning, but leaves no redness or marks?

Thanks

Chemistry news on Phys.org
To be honest, it is possible, but probably not very likely in my opinion.

I don't mean to be rude here, but I think you are asking if this pain is a common occurrence due to everyday contact with chemicals. Obviously we don't know your history, and I am not a medical doctor, but everyday common contact with chemicals is unlikely to cause this.

That said, if you were to tell us that you just got back from an up-close and personal study of http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radiotrophic_fungus" , we might give you a better idea.

Point is, no, this is not a common occurrence from everyday contact with chemicals. Also, even if we did know your medical history, it's nearly impossible for a bunch of science nerds and engineers to diagnose you over the internet. Most people here don't have medical degrees.

Sorry and best of luck.

Last edited by a moderator:
I fully agree with you, but my Doctor had no ideas, so why not try the science nerds and engineers ;-)
The area involved has the same pattern as if one was in contact with a toilet seat. Ya it's funny! but hurts like hell.
My Doctor has it narrowed down to "lets wait and see" what happens ;-(

RobN said:
I fully agree with you, but my Doctor had no ideas, so why not try the science nerds and engineers ;-)
The area involved has the same pattern as if one was in contact with a toilet seat. Ya it's funny! but hurts like hell.
My Doctor has it narrowed down to "lets wait and see" what happens ;-(