Centripetal acceleration and outward motion?

In summary, the conversation discussed the concept of centripetal force and its effect on objects moving in circular paths. It was clarified that centripetal force is a necessary condition for circular motion and is not produced by the act of moving in a circle, but rather causes things to move in a circle. The concept of centrifugal force was also mentioned, which is a pseudo force that arises in non-inertial reference frames and is equal but opposite to centripetal force. The magnitude of centrifugal force depends on the angular velocity of the reference frame and the distance from the rotation axis. It was also discussed that forces are not related to velocity, but to acceleration, and that the force applied to someone on a rotating object is the cent
SignSeeker7
I'm in my first year of physics and I'm having trouble understanding some aspects of centripetal force.

When someone is spinning rapidly on, say, an amusement park ride, they tend to be pushed outward the faster they go. Is this the tangential velocity? Or does it involve a different aspect of uniform circular motion? And if so, how do I calculate it?

EDIT: I know basic equations such as Centripetal acceleration = velocity squared / the radius, and the velocity = the circumference / the time to complete 1 revolution.
And this is only homework related insofar as I will understand it better; I'm not seeking an easy answer.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
The centripetal force is a force directed toward the center of rotation. It is a necessary condition for an object to move in a circular path, because objects would prefer to move in straight lines. It is something added to the system, such as a rope, a gravitational attraction or whatever. The act of moving in a circle doesn't produce the centripetal acceleration, the centripetal acceleration causes things to move in a circle.