Career Prospects with a B. Math

• Math
  • Thread starter Chunks
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Career
In summary, the conversation discussed potential career options for someone graduating with a B. Math from the University of Waterloo in Ontario, Canada. The participant is currently in the Mathematical Physics Program and is seeking advice on what career paths are available for a math graduate. It was mentioned that there are many opportunities for mathematicians, as evidenced by the #1 ranking of mathematicians in a recent Wall Street Journal article. The participant was also encouraged to ask any further questions.
Chunks
Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting though I have been reading often, I was just wondering what careers would be available to me if I graduate with a B. Math from the University of Waterloo in Ontario Canada. I am currently in the Mathematical Physics Program in second year and have no idea what I would like to do after graduation. I don't know what is out there for a math grad at all and was wondering if you guys could give me some advice?

Physics news on Phys.org
There are plenty of careers for a mathematician. Check the thread "Who wants to be a mathematician" (stickied), and the Wall Street Journal just recently rated Mathematician's as the #1 job (beating doctors, engineerings, etc).

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB123119236117055127.html

If you have more questions, don't hesitate to ask!

Related to Career Prospects with a B. Math

1. What career options are available with a B. Math degree?

A B. Math degree can lead to a variety of career opportunities in fields such as finance, data analysis, computer science, statistics, and research. Some common job titles for B. Math graduates include financial analyst, data scientist, actuary, software engineer, and operations research analyst.

2. Is a B. Math degree in demand in the job market?