Can't find a Job in Engineering, what to do?

In summary, electrical engineering graduate with no experience is having a hard time finding a job. The lack of experience may be due to lack of job hunting and interview experience, as well as lack of passion for the field. One trick is to target your resume to the company and emphasize what experience you have in the area they are looking for. Next, you need to learn what the company is looking for specifically and read up on it. Finally, be confident in your skills and demonstrate how you would help the company.
THEMuffinMan7
Hi, I took electrical engineering but I've been having a hard time finding employment, its been nearly 4 months since I graduated. I think it comes down to a lack of experience in anyone area. A lot of experience I had was self guided and to be honest, half assed, I did two coops with an actual company but I didn't get much impressive experience from there. I wasn't smart about things in school. I specialized in power engineering courses, but didn't do any coops that really relate to power, I have some experience with embedded systems (mostly self guided) but my knowledge in that area is limited (basically hobby level as I forget most of what i learned in the couple classes I took) as I found out in interviews but I could relearn the basics - plus there are probably some really smart people in this area that I am competing with.

I'm not sure what I should do at this point. I think I need to pick what I want to do and try to get an internship with a local company to build my resume, and learn as much as I can on my own, I might need to get a regular part time job for now? What do you think would be better / easier to pursue, embedded systems/ hardware design, industrial automation, or low/medium voltage power? I'll link my resume, my resume looks better than the reality though.

Physics news on Phys.org