Can we measure the momentum of a particle in a specific position?

In summary, In the conversation, the topic of momentum operator and the momentum wave function in position basis was discussed. It was shown that the momentum wave function, <x|p>, cannot be normalized and does not have a sensible probability distribution. This means that well-defined states of momentum do not exist. However, there are states that are normalizable to unity and come close to having a precise momentum. These states can be measured, but not prepared. The concept of generalized momentum, such as charge, does not have the same restriction in measurement as momentum does. It is possible to measure generalized momentum accurately in electronic systems,
amjad-sh
Hello all;
Sorry if my questions are stupid or weird, but I'm still a beginner in quantum mechanics. So please be patient with me!
I'm reading shankar text of quantum mechanics,and I reached the part related to momentum operator and the momentum wave function in position basis.
He derived that [itex]\langle x | p \rangle=\frac{1}{√2πħ} e^{ipx}[/itex] which means that it is a plane wave.
so [itex]\langle x | p \rangle[/itex] can't be normalized and we can't associate with them a sensible probability distribution as the probability density will be uniform in all space.
But prof shankar then said:"But since the plane waves are eigenfunctions of P does it means that well-defined states of momentum do not exist ? yes,in strict sence".

my first question is:1)does he mean by saying"well-defined states of momentum do not exist" that we can't measure the momentum of a particle in a specific position?I know that we can't but what he means by this?
2)does this mean that |p> does not belong to Hilbert space?

Now prof shankar continued:"however there do exist states that are normalizable to unity(i.e correspond to proper vectors)and come arbitrarily close to having a precise momentum".