Gravity and Light: Exploring the Relationship Between Mass and Speed

In summary, the conversation discusses the topic of whether light behaves with gravity as if it has mass. The speaker, a year 11 student, is trying to convince their brother that light does have mass and therefore can be affected by gravity, citing examples such as light being distorted by passing a sun and being sucked into a black hole. They are looking for sources to prove their point, and the conversation delves into the two different meanings of mass in physics - rest mass and relativistic mass. The conclusion is that while light may have zero rest mass, it does have relativistic mass and therefore can be affected by gravity, as stated by Einstein in his theory of general relativity.
merc-blue
hey I am only a year 11 student and just want to solve a argument with my brother i pride myself on bing quite a head of my class in physics and such.. but the problem is that i believe that light behaves with gravity as it has mass even though to travel at the spped of light it can't have mass such as things like light distorts as it passes a sunn or it gets sucked into a balckhole couldn't happen if light didnt behave as if it had mass... r there any sites that i can show to my borther to prove this or anyone with a qualification in a field they can say deffiently this happens?

Science news on Phys.org
Originally posted by merc-blue