Can someone help me find a method to measure water level in a tank

The tank is 7 feet deep, 23 feet in length, and 26 feet in width.In summary, the conversation discusses different methods for measuring the depth of water inside an underground tank without opening it. Suggestions include using a stick, a float and electronics, ultrasonic sensors, and a conductivity method. The tank is 7 feet deep, 23 feet in length, and 26 feet in width.
savibalu
At the outset I am a novice in physics. i have constructed a rain water storing tank with a capicity of 1,20,000 litres. I propose to seal the tank so that there is no light penetrating inside the tank. My question now is how do I measure how many feet of water is left inside the tank? Can someone suggest a simple way? Thank you in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
savibalu said:
At the outset I am a novice in physics. i have constructed a rain water storing tank with a capicity of 1,20,000 litres. I propose to seal the tank so that there is no light penetrating inside the tank. My question now is how do I measure how many feet of water is left inside the tank? Can someone suggest a simple way? Thank you in advance.
Do you mean without opening the tank? The simplest way by far would be to have the ability to open at least a small area at the top of the tank and stick in a long rod that darkens in water and then take it out and see what length is dark.

Absent that, you're going to have to have a float and some electronics including a transmitter. Seems like a lot of unnecessary work/cost.

Clear plastic tubing run vertically up the outside of the tank. The bottom of the tube is connected low in the tank (for example, tee it into the outlet pipe). Tube level = tank level.

thank you for your replies.
yes i want to measure without opening the underground water tank. Measuring with a stick is my last resort if nothing works out.