Can someone help me chose a motor for my hand drill?

In summary, the person is looking for a small motor with enough power and torque to screw in the miniature screws as well as unscrew them without stripping the groves. They are also looking for a small motor with low rpm output.
Silverhobbiest
Background:
(I'm a beginner)
I plan on using PCV pipe for the main body. The drill's purpose will be to install screws into pre-cut groves (basically a motorized screwdriver). These screws will be only a couple centimeters tall so the motor will only need a moderate amount of torque and rpm. It takes about 3 turns to install these screws but i would like the fit to be tight so maybe a little more than that would be excellent. I would like this drill to be able to unscrew as well .

The problem:
I need to chose a small motor that has enough power/torque and rpm to screw in the miniature screws (as well as unscrew) without stripping the groves at a fast but controllable speed. The motor needs to be small but effective and precise. I'm just not sure what kind of motor fits these requirements. Please help?

Engineering news on Phys.org
Although we have a huge variety of talent and knowledge here at PF and you may well get a good answer from someone, I would think that a hobbyist forum would be a lot better place to ask such a question.

Likes Silverhobbiest
Try looking up the technical details of commercially available powered screwdrivers to get some design ideas .

Likes Silverhobbiest
Most small motors will be way to fast for what you need so some sort of reduction gearbox will be required. This will also increase the torque and that might cause problems. I think you need to look for an adjustable means of limiting the torque and this is a feature of many commercial electric screwdrivers.

Last edited by a moderator:
Likes Silverhobbiest and Merlin3189