Can My Desire Pull Me Through Chemistry Engineering?

In summary, the speaker is an aspiring chemical engineering student who has concerns about their abilities in logical reasoning and concentration. However, they have a strong interest in the subject and are self-studying fluid mechanics. They are seeking advice on whether their desire can overcome their perceived deficiencies and if they can still pursue a career in chemical engineering.
mathis314
Hi all,

I am an aspiring chemical engineering student. However, I don't feel that I am smart enough to go into such a profession. Reason is that i have deficiencies in logical reasoning and I seem to confuse myself a lot (a lot lot), i also lack common sense. I have a difficult time concentrating.

At any rate, i love the maths, and i suddenly have a strong desire to take chemical engineering classes (not really sure why, maybe cause I am curious). I'm pretty self disciplined, I'm self- studying fluid mechanics now and I am loving the subject, even though I am having difficulty grasping the material (viscocity in particular).

So, what do you think? can my desire pull me through, even though i lack the witts?

Physics news on Phys.org
Is there any advice you can give me? Can I still pursue chemical engineering and make it work for me? Thanks in advance.

I can tell you that having a strong desire and interest in a subject is a great starting point for success in any field, including chemical engineering. However, it is important to also have the necessary skills and abilities in order to excel in this field.