Can i work in IT security if I have a SEALED juvenile record of petty theft?

In summary, the conversation discusses the possibility of working in IT security with a sealed juvenile record of petty theft. It is mentioned that prospective employers are not usually made aware of sealed records unless there is an adult conviction. The speaker suggests checking with the college's legal advisor or the NCJJ for more information. It is also noted that some security firms may value past offending for the ability to think like a criminal. The conversation ends with a quote from Bruce Schneier and a recommendation to read a blog series on breaking into security.
annoyinggirl
Can i work in IT security if I have a sealed juvenile record of petty theft?

I was 16 when i was caught shoplifting items worth $200 in total. Now 21 and studying Computer Science, I have to choose a concentration of Computer Science to study. I'm wondering if a SEALED juvenile record of pretty theft would prevent me from being able to work in IT security. Could I get a IT security job with private companies, given my sealed juvenile record? Would getting such jobs with the government be impossible or near impossible, since they have access to sealed records (correct me if I am wrong)? Are there any other areas of IT that my sealed juvenile record of petty theft would prevent me from entering?

Physics news on Phys.org
In the USA huh.
Prospective employers are not usually made aware of the existence of sealed records unless you have a conviction as an adult.
But I'm doing this from the outside and details can vary from state to state, and what I know may be too specific.

Caveat: I am not a lawyer...
Your college will have some sort of student legal advisor or service - you can check with them.
I think the NCJJ will be the people to ask for the definitive view - though it is the DCJIS that handles your CORI.