Can I Power a LED Strip with a Solar Panel?

In summary, the individual is seeking assistance with a wiring application that involves running a 6 inch LED strip activated by touch or pressure and powered by a 1" x 6" solar panel or cell. They are unsure of how to achieve this and are in need of guidance. Other individuals suggest using a battery to power the LED strip in the dark and using a switch as the sensor.
lozano04
Hey Guys, I have no background or experience in electrical engineering. I have not been able to find any information regarding the wiring application I am trying to achieve. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Is it possible to do the following;

I want to run a 6 inch LED strip that is activated by touch or pressure. I would need some type of sensor that would detect weight has been applied and then in turn would activate the LED strip. The light would need to be constant as long as there was something making contact with the sensor. I need it to be powered by a 1" x 6" solar panel or cell. Is this possible?

Engineering news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF;
Short answer: yes. - don't know about the solar cell but LEDs don't need much.
I'd have the solar cell charge a battery, since you probably want the LED strip to work in the dark.
The "sensor" is just a switch.

Related to Can I Power a LED Strip with a Solar Panel?

1. How much solar power do I need to power a LED strip?

The amount of solar power needed depends on the wattage and length of the LED strip. Typically, a 5-meter strip with a wattage of 14.4 watts per meter would require a 72-watt solar panel. However, it is recommended to oversize the solar panel to ensure proper power supply.

2. Can I power multiple LED strips with one solar panel?