Can I Modify My Printer PCB Board to Run Multiple Stepper Motors?

• Thread starter happyuser123
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Board Pcb
In summary, you are trying to modify the Allegro A3977 Microstepping Driver to move the incoming signal for the stepper motor and send it to 2 additional stepper motor drivers. You are looking for an economocal solution for the project and you are also looking for help with the project.
happyuser123
Hi,

I have a epson c88+ printer, I am trying to modify the Allegro A3977 Microstepping Driver, to move the incoming signal for the stepper motor and send it to 2 additional stepper motor drivers, so that I can run 2 stepper motors off that same signal.

I have little experience in this field and I would greatly appreciate your kind help and support in guiding me true this project.

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• this is the printer board c88+.jpg
    this is the printer board c88+.jpg
    67 KB · Views: 489
  • Closeup Photo.jpg
    Closeup Photo.jpg
    69.2 KB · Views: 447
Engineering news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF.

From the pic it looks like 4 wires going to the stepper.
Is one pin connected to the ground plane/Vcc or do all 4 go to the IC.
You probably need an oscilloscope to check the pin relations when operating or you might get the same info from the stepper motor specs if you have that.

In the first case you can probably use three transistors as switches.
in the later you will probably need to use two pins to drive H-bridges.

Hi,

the stepper motor that's now connected is this: http://www.shinano.com/xampp/docs/SST41D.pdf

Also, how would I power the motors? and add that second driver for the second new stepper motor??

Last edited by a moderator:
If it would be possible for you to draw a quick diagram, so that I can understand your suggestion better, that would be extra greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance for everyone that's so kind to help me with this project!