Can I major in Electrical Engineering and Biology?

In summary, if you want to be a biomedical engineer, you should major in electrical engineering and take courses designed specifically for biomedical engineers. Additionally, you may want to consider a second major in biology to help you cover the topics you may not learn in electrical engineering courses.
Jazmine
Can I major in Electrical Engineering and Biology and become a Biomedical engineer? I want to be a Biomedical engineer but the school I am going to only has environmental, electrical, and mechanical.

Physics news on Phys.org
Disclaimer: I'm not experienced in any of this, but I did some searching.

I went straight to job openings to see what they were looking for:https://www.monster.com/jobs/q-biomedical-engineer-jobs.aspx

They often say something like (minimum) B.A. in Biomedical Engineering "or equivalent." I think the emphasis is more on the engineering than the biology, but it looks like a double major would at least have you taking the right courses. Many of these are looking for a master's. Maybe do your double major for bachelor's and then seek graduate studies elsewhere?

Likes Student100
Many folks in the biomed engineering fields transition with undergrad degrees in Mech E or EE. Many employers prefer graduates from the quality Mech E and EE programs than from specific Biomed E programs, some of which have a reputation for being less rigorous.

You should also have a chance at your school to broaden your experience with internships and/or working in the lab or research program of a faculty member in the Mech E or EE departments. See which of them may be doing work related to Biomed E. Add that to a Mech E or EE degree, and you should be good to go.