Can I Become a Competent Calculus II Tutor After Just Managing a B?

• Thread starter joe_cool2
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Tutor
In summary, the student is looking to improve their competence by uploading their tests to a forum so that others can evaluate and help them. They also hope to find a tutor who is competent enough to help other students with an A in Calc II.
joe_cool2
I attend my school in the fall and spring semesters like most students; I'm pretty new to the campus as I've been there for only one full year. At 19, I am a "youngin".

Last semester, I took Calculus II... with the worst teacher I've ever had. Period. Still, I managed to get a B, at an 84%. I'm looking to get a job as a mathematics tutor at school now - the minimum requirement to become one is a B in Calc II.

Now here's the interesting part: in my estimation, and in that of many (if not all) of my classmates, the tests were far too difficult. We were in agreement that the tests did not serve as a proper diagnostic for the material that we were taught and had practiced. In my case, this may have been the difference between and A and a B.

If I am to become a tutor, I feel that I should be competent enough to help other students get an A in her class - my prof will be the only Calc II teacher at the university next semester. That's why I'm posting - to both evaluate and improve my competence.

Being able to upload my tests to this forum, then, would serve a dual purpose - I'll get to why in a moment. But for now, I'm having technical difficulties. I scanned all my tests in and they are saved as .pdfs on my computer. However, it seems that:

A) I can only upload three files to this site at a time.
B) I would have to buy Adobe Acrobat to merge the pages I scanned.
C) Double, triple, and quadruple posting are highly frowned upon.

Now, to talk about that dual purpose - first the evaluation of my competence: