Can expectation value of observables be imaginary?

In summary, the conversation revolves around the calculation of the expectation value of p^2 for a gaussian wavefunction. The person has calculated it for t=0 and obtained <p^2>=ah. However, when considering time dependence, they are getting an imaginary factor in their calculation. They discuss their method of calculation and equations used, but are unable to identify the mistake. They also ask for the correct value of <p^2>.
Raze2dust
I am quite new to Quantum Mechanics and I am studying it from the book by Griffiths, as kind of a self-study..no instructor and all...

For a gaussian wavefunction [tex]\Psi[/tex]=Aexp(-x[tex]^{2}[/tex]), I calculated
<p[tex]^{2}[/tex]> and found it to be equal to ah[tex]^{2}[/tex]/(1-2aiht/m)

(By h I mean h-bar..not so good at latex yet)

Can it be correct? How can expectation value of p[tex]^{2}[/tex] be imaginary?

Physics news on Phys.org
That's not what I got. How did you go about calculating it?

What did you get? <p^2>= ah ?
we know psi(x,0) = Aexp(-x^2)
so i first calulated phi(k) integrating (1/[(2*pi)^(1/2)]) psi(x,0)*exp(-ikx) dx from -inf to inf
then got psi(x,t) (1/[(2*pi)^(1/2)]) phi(k)*exp(i(kx-((h^2)*(k^2)*t)/2m) dk from -inf to inf

till that part I am correct, since the answer is given in the book and I verified.

For the next part, I got <x>=<p>=0 and <x^2>=1/(4*w^2) where w=[a/(1+4a2h2t2/m2)] (the 2's are squares)
It's fine till then

Then got <p^2> by doing (-h^2)* integral psi(x,t)* (d^2/dx^2) psi(x,t) dx
the problem is that i get imaginary constant (1-2aiht/m) each time i differentiate psi(x,t)
and this doesn't get canceled out later.

[tex]\phi(k)=\int^{-\infty}_{\infty}\psi(x,0)e^{-ikx}dx[/tex]

but you take the derivative twice, then you should not have any imaginary part left.

(My previous post was a mistake ignore it..)

Here's how I did it..
[tex]\phi(k)=\stackrel{1}{\overline{\sqrt{2\pi}}}\int^{\infty}_{-\infty}\psi(x,0)e^{-ikx}dx