Can Civil Engineering Principles Be Applied to the ISS Structure?

In summary, the International Space Station (ISS) is a collaboration between 15 different countries, orbiting the Earth at an altitude of approximately 250 miles. It was built in stages over a period of 13 years and is primarily used for scientific research and experimentation. Only trained astronauts and cosmonauts are able to visit the ISS, as it requires specialized training and equipment. It serves as a laboratory and observatory in space, and is expected to remain in operation until at least 2024, with the possibility of extension depending on funding and decisions of participating countries.
MaterialMan
I am a civil engineering student and I chose to do the ISS for my structural design project.

I think I may be in a little over my head because I don't know much about the space station, but I have always been fascinated and I am excited to learn about it!

Could anybody point me in the right direction of where to find some useful and concise information pertaining to the structural design considerations of the ISS? The report only has to be five pages so it isn't terribly in depth, and I might go up to ten. Any other suggestions are welcome as well.

Thank you so much, I look forward to reading some of your interesting articles!

Physics news on Phys.org
MaterialMan said:
I am a civil engineering student and I chose to do the ISS for my structural design project.

I think I may be in a little over my head because I don't know much about the space station, but I have always been fascinated and I am excited to learn about it!

Could anybody point me in the right direction of where to find some useful and concise information pertaining to the structural design considerations of the ISS? The report only has to be five pages so it isn't terribly in depth, and I might go up to ten. Any other suggestions are welcome as well.