Can an Electromagnetic Pulse Engine Revolutionize the Automotive Industry?

In summary, the conversation discusses the idea of using an electromagnetic pulse engine as an alternative application for the automotive industry. The engine would use electromagnets instead of combustion to drive the pistons, and the prototype is set to be ready within a month. However, other users suggest that using a conventional electric motor would be simpler, cheaper, and more efficient. The original poster also mentions concerns about the magnetic fields affecting other electronic components and potential challenges with battery technology. The conversation ends with the realization that the proposed engine would violate the laws of physics and the thread is locked.
Marlin Hunter
This is my first posting with the forum and I hope I have chosen the appropriate topic. I am a 25 year automotive technician and have been pursuing an alternative application for the automotive industry. It is the electromagnetic pulse engine, which basically utilizes a regular 4 cylinder engine (using the block and pistons for demonstrative purpose) minus the head. I want to attach 4 iron caps to the top of the pistons, approximately 1/16 - 1/8 inch thick but slightly smaller than the piston top itself. An aluminum platform will bolt to the block that will be raised approximately 1 inch above the block surface. The platform will have 4 cut outs to allow an electromagnet to be attached above each cylinder opening. My question is this: Does the electromagnet windings (insulated copper wire) determine the direction that the electromagnet will "push" or "pull" the modified pistons? I want to show that the electromagnet, when "fired" through the existing distributor configurations will push (preferable) or pull the piston through sequence. Any advice, opinion, and insight will be appreciated. The prototype will be ready within a month and I have politicians, environmentalists, and some people in Hollywood waitin