Can a Planet Have a Moon that Never Casts a Shadow?

In summary: Had to look that word up. What sprang immediately to mind was 'Urine year'.Good point. However, if such a planet was tidally locked to its sun (Uranus is not), then the sun always illuminates one pole and the orbiting moons will never cast a shadow on the planet's...er...urinary region.
mincam
TL;DR Summary
Can the shadow of a moon never touch it's planet?
I am a newbie, and really uninformed (read stupid.)

Here is my question: Would it be possible for the Earth (or any planet,) to have a moon whose orbit was such that it never came between the sun and the Earth?

In other words, could we have a moon that never cast a shadow on the Earth? Or is it inevitable that sometime during a year a moon must cast at least a partial shadow on its planet?

Here is what I am thinking: "If the moon's orbital plane rotates along with the planet, the moon will always cast a shadow on the planet some time or other; however, if the moon's orbital plane is stationary and does not rotate along with the planet, it is quite possible that the moon will never cast a shadow on the planet. (For example say the moon's orbital plane always faces the sun, then no shadow on planet. Impossible?) But darned if I know which case is true, although my Earthly experience should make the answer obvious - so I'm goin' with always a shadow. But I'd like to be wrong."

I have no clue about terminology, so I may be using the wrong words. And I am not talking about eclipses, any part of the shadow touching the planet will do (or not.)

In other words, I guess, "Can a planet have a moon that never comes between it and the sun?"

Astronomy news on Phys.org
That could be possible if the orbit of the moon has a high inclination and is in resonance with the orbit of the planet. However, I do not know how stable such an orbit would be in the long term.

Likes hutchphd
mincam said: