Can a biochemist become a physicist?

In summary, the individual is currently 22 years old and has a degree in Biochemistry. They are now completing their Master's in Bioengineering and Nanosystems with high grades. However, they have rediscovered their passion for Physics and are considering changing their career path. They are interested in applying for a 1/2 year Master's program in Physics in the UK, but are unsure about their background in electricity, magnetism, classical mechanics, and quantum mechanics. They are also considering preparing the necessary background independently, potentially through online courses. They ask for alternative ways to shorten the path to a PhD in Physics, but are concerned about the financial limitations and want to ensure success before committing to a PhD program. They are also interested in
Samuel Jacob
I am currently 22 years old, I graduated in Biochemistry and am now finishing my Master's in Bioengineering and Nanosystems, both with high grades. I've been thinking of leaving life sciences since I've rediscovered my passion for Physics (and Philosophy). Having some background on classical mechanics, physical-chemistry and electronics, how can I start a career in Physics?

I'm thinking about applying abroad for a 1/2 year Master's in Physics (in UK), for which I need some background in electricity and magnetism, classical mechanics and introduction to QM; after the Master's, I would be apt to apply for a phD.

-Is there any other way to shorten this path? I've read in this thread that to apply for phD in USA I only needed to be successful in GRE tests, but I don't feel like I should ingress before I am sure that I will complete it successfully without wasting years acquiring background.

-Given economic limitations I was thinking of preparing the background needed for the MSc independently. Are there ways to refer this study such that it'd be recognized by an educational institution (e.g. online courses)?