Calculus 1 and 2 regards to Civil Engineering

In summary, the use of calculus is prevalent in civil engineering, particularly in courses such as statics, dynamics, strength of materials, and structural analysis. It is important for aspiring civil engineers to have a strong foundation in calculus in order to succeed in these courses and in the field.
sunbear
Hello Physics Forum,

I am an aspiring civil engineer and I just stumbled across this website tonight. I am just now taking calc 2 and have pretty much started off on the wrong foot. This class is already a headache and we have just covered the first quarter of the class. I expect it to get much harder. What I am wondering is how prevalent is calculus in regards to civil engineering. I am leaning towards the structural and construction side of the field.

Nice to meet you all,

sunbear

Physics news on Phys.org
We're math folk here. I reckon your question is better aimed at the engineering folk.

sunbear said:
Hello Physics Forum,

I am an aspiring civil engineer and I just stumbled across this website tonight. I am just now taking calc 2 and have pretty much started off on the wrong foot. This class is already a headache and we have just covered the first quarter of the class. I expect it to get much harder. What I am wondering is how prevalent is calculus in regards to civil engineering. I am leaning towards the structural and construction side of the field.

Nice to meet you all,

sunbear

In US colleges, all engineering undergrads take ordinary calculus, differential equations, and some vector calculus (and complex variable calculus). If you are finding the basic calculus course tough going, this does not bode well for your academic future, because calculus will be used quite a lot in statics and dynamics courses as well as strength of materials and other structural analysis courses. IMO, you need to master basic calculus in order to understand the material which will be presented in these other courses.