Calculation of bond length using Raman spectra

In summary, to calculate the bond length from a Raman spectra of hydroxyapatite, you can use Badger's rule and a bond length-frequency correlation plot. First, gather references on hydroxyapatite and its vibration frequency and bond length. Then, use the Badger's rule equation to fit the plot and extrapolate the bond length from the Raman peak frequency. Additional articles on the topic can provide useful information.
marielescobal
Hi, I really need your help.

Suppose I have a Raman spectra of a hydroxyapatite, how do I calculate the bond length from the spectra? I've been trying to understand the concept of Badger's rule but I really cannot understand. Please help.

Chemistry news on Phys.org
I'm not a professional in this area, but I suspect that you can look for references on hydroxyapatite (experimental and/or theoretical) on the vibration frequency (IR, Raman, Quantum chemical calculations) and bond length (XRD, EXAFS, etc). You can then draw a bond length-frequency correlation plot, and use the Badger's rule equation to fit it. You will get the necessary constants to complete the equation.

Then, from the Raman spectra, check the frequency (in wavenumbers cm-1) for the Raman peak that corresponds to the vibration in hydroxyapatite of interest. You can then use the Badger's rule equation you created above and extrapolate what bond length your sample's vibration frequency corresponds to.

For reference, see the following articles:
https://pubs.acs.org/doi/abs/10.1021/jacs.7b00210
https://pubs.acs.org/doi/abs/10.1021/acs.jpclett.8b03790

Thank you so much! I really appreciate this. 😊 Gave me the idea that I needed.

1. How is bond length calculated using Raman spectra?