Calculating Wave Speed & Distance from Boat

In summary, the speed of waves on a lake depends on frequency. For waves of frequency 1.0 Hz the wave speed is 1.56 m/s; for 2.0 Hz waves the speed is .78 m/s. The 2.0 Hz waves reach you 120 seconds after the 1.0Hz waves generated by the same boat. How far away is the boat.
Resmo112

Homework Statement

the speed of waves on a lake depends on frequency. For waves of frequency 1.0 Hz the wave speed is 1.56 m/s; for 2.0 Hz waves the speed is .78 m/s. the 2.0 Hz waves reach you 120 seconds after the 1.0Hz waves generated by the same boat. How far away is the boat.

Homework Equations

we have 2 velocities and 2 frequencies the only equation I can find that includes both of those variables is
v=Lambda *f

The Attempt at a Solution

I'm studying for my final, I'd THINk you could just times the time by the velocity and that'd give you the distance between the the person and the boat. but the problem is it's the DIFFERENCE between 2 waves, that's confusing me, if you multiply 1.56 m/s * 120 s you end up with 187.2 which is really close to the actual answer which is 190m. any help would be greatly appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
The reason you notice the funny fact that 1.56 m/s * 120 s = the answer is because the first wave travels twice as fast as the second wave.

One systematic way to set up the problem uses only the basic fact that x = vt. Since they've given you the wave velocities, you don't need to do anything with the frequency, wavelength, or any other properties of waves. All you need to know is that they are moving objects with known velocities.

Let x be the position of the boat.
v1 = 1.56 m/s the velocity of 1.0 Hz waves.
v2 = 0.78 m/s the velocity of 2.0 Hz waves.

t1 = the time for the 1.0 Hz waves to reach you.
t2 = t1+120 s the time for the 2.0 Hz waves to reach you.
x = v1 * t1 = v2 * t2
= v2 (t1 + 120 s)

and now solve for t1 and you will see the funny fact emerge.

hi,