Calculating the Frequency of a Tuning Fork Using Resonance Tube Method

In summary, the frequency of the tuning fork can be calculated using the formula v = f x lambda, where v is the speed of sound in air, f is the frequency, and lambda is the wavelength. However, the exact value cannot be determined without knowing whether the resonance tube is open or closed.
Shackleford
6. A tuning fork is heard to resonate over a resonance tube when the
air column is 48.5 cm long and again when it is 68.7 cm long. What is
the frequency of the tuning fork if the temperature is 26˚C?

I couldn't figure out how to work this. I thought it mattered if it were in a closed or open pipe, which is not mentioned.

v = 346.6 m/s

Physics news on Phys.org

I had a problem that was similar to this...if I recall correctly, lambda was .5(D2-D1). So lambda is half the distance between resonances.

>_> However, I am not an expert and could very easily be wrong.

Foxhound101 said:
I had a problem that was similar to this...if I recall correctly, lambda was .5(D2-D1). So lambda is half the distance between resonances.

>_> However, I am not an expert and could very easily be wrong.

Don't I have to know if it's open or closed?

lambda = 2 (l2 - l2) - .404 m

v = 346.4 ms^-1

f = 857.4 Hz

First you ll need to get the v-air which is given by: v = (332.5)(squareroot(T/273))
where T is the temperature in Kelvin. After that you know that v = f x lambda, and now i think: Ln+1 - Ln = 1/2 lambda.

Related to Calculating the Frequency of a Tuning Fork Using Resonance Tube Method

1. What is a tuning fork frequency?

A tuning fork frequency is the rate at which a tuning fork vibrates, typically measured in Hertz (Hz). It is determined by the length and shape of the prongs of the tuning fork.

2. How do I calculate the frequency of a tuning fork?