Bicycle Type Chain [Mechanics] Problem

In summary, Vivek, a new member of physicsforums.com, is seeking advice on a problem involving motion of a chain along a circular track in classical mechanics. The problem is from an old book and Vivek provides the diagram and equation he has already derived. He asks for help in finding the correct expression for tension and provides his own solution for reference.
maverick280857
Hi guys..

I am a new member of physicsforums.com (I am a science student at the pre-undergrad level). I am unable to solve a problem involving motion of a chain along a circular track, in classical mechanics. The problem is from an old book on mechanics. Please read the problem (below) and offer your advice...

The problem:

"A flexible bicycle-type chain of length (1/2)*Π*r (0.5 * pie * radius) has a mass RHO per unit length and is released after being held by its upper end in an initial rest condition in the smooth circular channel. Determine the acceleration 'a' which all links experience just after release. Also find the expression for the tension T in the chain as a function of θ (theta)¸ for the condition immediately following release. Isolate a differential element of the chain as a free body and apply the appropriate motion equation."

The Diagram (drawn in Paint: the red dots represent the chain, the diag is otherwise vague and not as good as the original book version) is on the link,

Please visit www.geocities.com/fsairin/physics.html [Associated Diagram]

I have gone as far as getting T (The tension) as a function of θ¸ but the function also includes 'a' which has to be eliminated.

Any ideas/solutions/approaches are appreciated...

Cheers
Vivek

---------------------------------------------
"Experiment without theory is
lame. Theory without
experiment is blind."

Physics news on Phys.org
For the Moderator

(FOR THE MODERATOR)

HI

I think I posted this in a wrong place...can you please shift it to the homework forum?

Cheers
Vivek

Hi