Calculating Spacetime Interval for Event A

In summary, the spacetime interval from the origin in frame S to event A is 8 lightseconds. In frame S', which is moving at a speed of 0.5c with respect to S, the spacial distance from the origin to A is 6 lightseconds. This means that the event A lies along the x' axis in frame S'.
Monster007

Homework Statement

The spacetime interval between the origin in frame S and an event, A, is found to be r = 8
lightseconds. In frame S' moving in Standard orientation with respect to S at speed v =
0.5c event A is measured at a distance r' = 6 lightseconds from the origin.

(a) What is the time interval between the origin in S' and event A?

(b) Could an event at the origin and event A be causally related? Explain your answer

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

I am studying for upcoming exam so the solution isn't as important as understanding the question, but as far as i know the spacetime interval is invariant which is throwing me way off here, I'm certain if i can get part a i understand part b but am completely at sea with part a) any help will be greatly appreciated, cheers.

Physics news on Phys.org
Yes, the spacetime interval is invariant. Question (a) asks for the time interval, not spacetime interval.

Also, in addition to what BruceW mentioned,

I suspect that when the problem statement said,
"...distance r' = 6 lightseconds..."
it's not asking for the spacetime interval to A, but really asking for the x' component of r. In other words, the distance from the origin to the projection of A onto the x' axis.

It probably would have been clearer if the problem statement was worded, "measured at a distance x' = 6 lightseconds."