Calculating Probability in Magic: The Gathering with a Decreasing Deck

In summary, if you want to maximize your chance of receiving two land cards on your opening hand, you should aim to draw cards until you have at least two.
Higgs_world
Hi everyone,
I have no background in Probability and Statistics, but I do understand some Calculus, so I think I will be able to understand your answer if you so choose to answer.

The game is called Magic: The Gathering. In this game you build a deck of sixty cards or more, but sixty is the number I want to know about. In the beginning of the game you draw 7 cards. In the opening hand, it is crucial that I draw at least 2 cards of which there are 23 of in the 60 card deck.

After the opening hand, you draw one card per turn. So the number of cards in the deck is decreasing. I need a formula that takes this into account.

I am sure this question has been answered already, so links are much appreciated.

Thanks everyone

Physics news on Phys.org
formula for what? there is no question asked here is there?

So in the opening hand you want any 2 (or more) cards from this set of 23? I'll work out the probability this happens for you. [tex]\binom{n}{k}=\frac{n!}{k!(n-k)!}=[/tex]the number of ways to select a subset of size k from n distinct elements.

The total number of hands in the first round is [tex]\binom{60}{7}=386206920[/tex].

To find the number of hands with 2 or more, we'll find the number with none and the number with 1 and subtract from the total.

To have none, all 7 cards must be taken from the 37 others, so [tex]\binom{37}{7}=10295472[/tex]

To have 1, we take 6 cards from the 37, and 1 card from the 23, so
[tex]\binom{37}{6}\binom{23}{1}=(2324784)(23)=53470032[/tex]

So the total number of first round hands that give 2 or more of the 23 is 386206920-10295472-53470032=322441416. Divide by the total number of hands gives the probability of a hand with 2 or more from the 23:
[tex]322441416/386206920\approxeq .8345[/tex]