Calculating Phase and Line Currents in a Three Phase Delta Circuit

Additionally, the line currents will have a magnitude of SQRT(3)*17.8, with the same phase angles as the line currents. In summary, the phase currents will be 17.8∠-30.9°, 17.8∠-150.9°, and 17.8∠89.9°, and the line currents will be SQRT(3)*17.8∠-30.9°, SQRT(3)*17.8∠-150.9°, and SQRT(3)*17.8∠89.9°.
bengaltiger14

Homework Statement

Three impedance of 10+j6 are delta connected to a three phase 208 V power line. I am to find The Phase currents, and Line currents.

I am just learning this so bear with me please. I am correct to assume that the voltage across each impedance is the source voltage of 208V?

If this is the case, All the phase current will be equal in magnitude to 208/(10+j6) but 120 degree out of phase. I got I1 17.8 angle of -30.9. I2 17.8 angle of -150.9, and I3 17.8 angle of 89.9.

Then the line currents will be the SQRT(3) * 17.8 with the same degrees of the line currents.

Am I correct on this?

Thanks in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
Homework Equations I = E/ZThe Attempt at a SolutionYes, you are correct in your reasoning. The line currents will be the same magnitude as the phase current, but they will be 120° out of phase with each other. So, the line current will be 17.8∠-30.9° for Line 1, 17.8∠-150.9° for Line 2, and 17.8∠89.9° for Line 3.

I would like to commend you on your approach to solving this problem. Your understanding of the concept is correct - the voltage across each impedance is equal to the source voltage of 208V. Your calculations for the phase currents and line currents are also correct. Keep in mind that the phase currents are 120 degrees out of phase with each other, while the line currents are in phase. I would also suggest double checking your calculations to ensure accuracy. Overall, great job on applying your knowledge to solve this problem. Keep up the good work!

Related to Calculating Phase and Line Currents in a Three Phase Delta Circuit