Calculating NIR Path Length for Gas Absorption Analysis

In summary, the conversation is about determining the minimum and maximum path length for gas absorption based on Beer Lamberts Law. The parameters that should be considered are path length, gas type and concentration, beam diameter, pressure, temperature, and transmission. The speaker is asking for guidance on how to calculate the acceptable path length for their specific gas and sensitivity. They also mention having difficulty finding help on the forum.
mobilecal
Hi everyone,

Yes I am a newbie here so forgive me if I don't ask the question correctly. I am trying to understand how to determine the minimal and maximum path length based on gas absorption.

I know this is based on Beer Lamberts Law but I am not sure which formulas to use and the order to use them. I appologize but I am not degreed in physics, but I have been a hobbist in spectroscopy and gas analysis for about 2 years.

In my thoughts I figured tat a minimal the following parameters must be considered.
1. Path Length
2. Gas (O2-760nms, 1% by volume)(range is .5% to 20%)
3. Beam Diameter
4. Pressure
5.Temperature
6. Tansmission

So if I did not ask correctly, I know the gas I am trying to measure, but not sure how to calculate what path length would be acceptable based on the sensitivity and range.

I am willing to do the work, just looking for some guidance here. Thank you in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
Could someone give me a hand here or tell me maybe I should ask this question on another Physics Forum Page? I hope I posted on the proper page. Thanks in advance.

Any help or direction would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

sure is hard to get help on this forum. Guess its too complicated for some.

Related to Calculating NIR Path Length for Gas Absorption Analysis

1. What is NIR path length calculation?