Calculating heat of compression?

In summary: You don't need to know how to derive it to use the equations. The relationship is shown in the derivation on the wiki page. They derive the equation
ISX
I am very interested in how hot a diesels compression chamber gets right before it shoots the fuel in and ignites. I want to know a formula that I can use to get the peak temperature. I know there are several factors like time and piston/engine heat absorbing, but if the engine is 200F, I think we can use that for something? I am not too good at this stuff but want to learn how to figure this. Let me know what other factors you need to know. Compression ratio is 17.0:1. Bore is 4.02" stroke is 4.72". Thanks for any help you can provide.

Science news on Phys.org
The Diesel compression cycle is usually considered to be adiabatic (i.e. no heat exchange).
Clearly this is a bit too much but it gives an approximate answer.
Having said this, you can use the following relationship that links the initial (i) and final (f) states of such compression:
Pi*Vi^K=Pf*Vf^K

Where K=1.4 for air. You can assume Pi= 1 atmosphere and the validity of the ideal gas equation

Care to simplify that down a little? I'm not that good at physics so your going to have to explain what the letters mean. Thanks.

It's basically

Pressure * volume^k = constant.

However if you use

Temperature * volume(K-1) = constant.

K is 1.4 for air.

So you start with the inlet temperature and volume. Then as the volume reduces the temperaute increases.

However you can't use this heat for anything, it's just not worth the effort. The only way you can use it usefully is to expand it, which defeats the point of compressing it to increase efficiency. The temperature also helps the combustion process.