Calculate the work done by a Generator

In summary, the conversation discusses the calculation of work done by a generator or other source of potential difference in moving 1 mole of electrons from an initial point of electric potential to a lower potential. The solution involves calculating the molecular weight of a mole of electrons and understanding the relationship between charge, voltage, and work.
shinobi12

Homework Statement

How much work is done by a generator or some other source of potential difference in moving 1 mole of electrons from an initial point of electric potential 9.00 V to where the potential is -5.00 V

Homework Equations

Im sure what to do

The Attempt at a Solution

I calculated the molecular weight of 1 mole of electrons, 5.49 x 10^-21 kg. Then I got extremely stumped. I'm a beginner at electromagnetism so I am not sure what to do at this point.

Physics news on Phys.org
shinobi12 said:

Homework Statement

How much work is done by a generator or some other source of potential difference in moving 1 mole of electrons from an initial point of electric potential 9.00 V to where the potential is -5.00 V

Homework Equations

Im sure what to do

The Attempt at a Solution

I calculated the molecular weight of 1 mole of electrons, 5.49 x 10^-21 kg. Then I got extremely stumped. I'm a beginner at electromagnetism so I am not sure what to do at this point.

A mole of electrons is a Faraday. You might want to look up how many coulombs a Faraday is. This is a measure of charge.

As to Work that is generally just charge * change in voltage. (Vf - Vi) * coulombs

thanks i really appreciate your help

Related to Calculate the work done by a Generator

1. How do I calculate the work done by a generator?