Calculate speed of object given g-force

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of g-force and its relation to acceleration, as well as the use of an instrument to measure g-force in a work-related incident with a forklift. The individual asking the question has limited knowledge of physics and is looking for an approximation of the speed needed to cause a specific g-force rating. They also mention a debate about the misuse of the instrument by their employer.
Hugoriffic
Hello.
I am new to this website and am not looking for homework help. In fact I have no background in physics whatsoever.

I am looking for the speed necessary to cause a specific g-force rating of 5.22 on an object weighing in at 11, 245 lbs and the distance covered would be approximately 1 foot to where the speed would equal zero. The object was traveling in a straight line at the time the impact occurred.

Thank you for any help you can give me with this. Also, if you could include the equations used to calculate this with a brief explanation I would appreciate it.

I apologize in advance for my ignorance if I have left anything out.

Physics news on Phys.org
"g-force" is NOT caused by speed, it is caused by acceleration: F= ma. The fact that you then say "the distance covered would be approximately 1 foot to where the speed would equal zero" makes it clear that you are talking about a constant acceleration, not speed.

At a constant acceleration, a, assuming starting with speed v0, an object will have speed v= v0+ at time t and would have traveled distance s= (1/2)at^2+ v0t. If I am reading this correctly, the "speed would equal 0" when v= v0+ at= 0 so a= -v0/t. In that time, it will have gone a distance which you can calculate. Then solve for t, and determine a.

Last edited by a moderator:
The object would be decelerating, for which we use the the symbol a, from an initial speed, vi , to zero - the final speed, vf , in the distance of 1 foot, s.