Cal Poly for Aerospace Engineering?

In summary, the conversation is about an aspiring Aerospace Engineer seeking advice on the Cal Poly schools and their "learn by doing" philosophy. The person is considering pursuing a Ph.D but is also interested in immediate job recruitment. They are also considering working in industry for a few years before going back to school, and their ideal company is SpaceX. The conversation also touches on which Cal Poly school is better for job recruitment and how it compares to other UC schools. The general consensus is that Cal Poly has a good engineering program and is more affordable than a UC, but may not have the same level of prestige.
CSpence
Hey all,

I'm an aspiring Aerospace Engineer and I'd like some advice on what you guys think about the Cal Poly schools. I really like their "learn by doing" philosophy because it's great for immediate job recruitment, but not necessarily good for those who want to pursue a Ph.D. I want to acquire a Ph.D, but if I can get a job right after graduating then I'd rather take that course. My first question, do you guys think it's a good idea to work in industry for a few years then go back to school for a Ph.D? It'll be a tough transition financially, especially if I get raises during my initial career. Cal Poly also offers this program where you can get a Masters in about a year after your bachelors. Would that be a better option? My ideal company to work for would be SpaceX and I also have dreams of creating my own space company one day, if that makes any difference. The founder of SpaceX doesn't have a Ph.D.

What do you guys think of the Cal Poly schools overall? Which one is better for job recruitment? I've heard that Pomona is better for Engineering because it's closer to a lot of the industry in SoCal. But SLO definitely has the better campus life and area.

Physics news on Phys.org