C/C ++ & Assembly mixed programming material

In summary: Generally speaking, a good beginner book would be "Beginning C++" by Bjarne Stroustrup (ISBN 978-0-201-63845-5). It covers the basics of C++ and has a good introduction to object-oriented programming. Another book that would be helpful is "Programming C++" by Bjarne Stroustrup and Nicolai Josuttis (ISBN 978-0-201-64109-5). It is a more advanced book, but covers more advanced topics, like templates, exceptions, and threads.
pairofstrings
Can anyone suggest me good books on 'C/C ++ & assembly mixed programming' for embedded system coding. I am trying to gain expertise in mixed C/C++ & assembly mixed programming for writing embedded system codes. I am fairly new to mixed programming. I know C/C++ and assembly languages. Now, I need to know mixed programming. Can you please suggest me any good books for mixed programing.

Last edited:
Technology news on Phys.org
If you know C++ and assembly, then you're almost there already. I've worked on embedded systems, and normally each source module is all C, C++, or assembly, and not mixed (no _asm() directives used in C code, because it interferes with the optimizer). Generally the amount of assembly code is small, mostly for the operating system used in a device, and perhaps some time critical routines. In the case of a cpu with a lot of registers, like an ARM with 16 registers, it's difficult to improve on the optimization of the code, but you need assembly to deal with context switching and dealing with interrupts (ARM uses secondary shadow registers for fast interrupt, normal interrupt, supervisor mode, ... ), or any math routine that needs to use low level hardware like the carry bit or paired registers.