Building programs yourself vs interships, for experience

In summary: Do both. Doing your own programs shows self-motivation. Getting an internship gives you interview experience, gives you a tangible job reference and gives you practical team experience. Also an internship can lead to a job at the interning company.
kolleamm
I'm trying to get some more work experience for my computer science resume since it's practically empty. All of the internships I've found so far are too demanding of my time since I'm a full time student. Would it be worth my time to create my own software and put that on my resume or should I continue searching for internships?

Thanks in advance

Physics news on Phys.org
Your own projects will need time as well, and it is harder to show that you put time into them. Contributing to open-source projects is another option.

Likes kolleamm
Do both. Doing your own programs shows self-motivation. Getting an internship gives you interview experience, gives you a tangible job reference and gives you practical team experience. Also an internship can lead to a job at the interning company.

Likes symbolipoint
mfb said:
Your own projects will need time as well, and it is harder to show that you put time into them. Contributing to open-source projects is another option.
I like the open source idea, is there a particular website that's best known for this?

Github and sourceforge hosts many open source projects.

However you should find them based on interest. As an example, the processing.org project is always looking for people to investigate and fix issues that they will vet and then add to the official project.

Likes kolleamm
jedishrfu said:
Github and sourceforge hosts many open source projects.

However you should find them based on interest. As an example, the processing.org project is always looking for people to investigate and fix issues that they will vet and then add to the official project.